Available 24 Hours a Day
Call Now (612) 341-9080

It is a requirement that every driver have proof of insurance in possession at all times when operating a vehicle. It is also a requirement that the driver produces this proof of insurance, covering the vehicle being operated, if demanded by a peace officer. Failure to do any of these requirements could result in a charge and the need for a Minnesota traffic violation attorney.

However, if a driver does not have proof of their insurance with them when they are pulled over they still have an opportunity to produce it. The driver has until the date of their first court appearance to send proof of their insurance for the vehicle involved in the incident. If the court receives the proof of insurance before the driver’s first court date, the charges will be dropped.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance Consequences

In Minnesota, driving without proof of insurance is a misdemeanor offense which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1000 fine. Give us a call if you have any questions regarding the consequences of a driving without proof of insurance charge.

Should I Contact a Minnesota Traffic Violation Attorney?

Driving without insurance offenses can bring fines and jail time. Charges can be complex and confusing to understand so making sure that you get clear cut answers to all of the questions surrounding your case is critical. Achieving a favorable outcome in any case is the goal of any individual charged with a traffic violation offense. Having an experienced Minnesota traffic violation attorney is essential to successfully defending your case. Gerald Miller PA has over 35 years of experience in dealing with traffic violation offenses. Contact us today at 612-341-9080 for a free consultation.

For more information see the Minnesota Driving without Proof of Insurance Statute 169.791.

 

Free Case Evaluation

Acting quickly will minimize the impact. Don’t wait!